About the Department

  1. Home
  2. About the Department

The men and women of the Albuquerque Police Department are honored to have the opportunity to serve the citizens of Albuquerque. We are committed to making sure that our residents and their families are safe and as free from crime.

The Albuquerque Police Department Executive Staff is tasked with providing leadership and direction to the sworn members and civilian employees of the department.

The Executive Staff consists of the Chief of Police, the Assistant Chief, the Deputy Chief, and three Majors. The Chief oversees, and is responsible for, the operation of the entire police department. The Deputy Chief and each Major is assigned to, and responsible for, the efficient operation of one of the following bureaus:

  • Field Services
  • Investigative Bureau
  • Professional Accountability
  • Special Services


The Field Services Bureau

has many functions. Chief among these is providing uniformed patrol throughout the City of Albuquerque by way of six police substations.

The Investigative Bureau

consists of the Special Investigations Division, Criminal Investigations Division, Scientific Evidence Division, Real -Time Crime Center, and Behavioral Health Division.

The Professional Accountability Bureau

consists of the Internal Affairs Unit and The Police Academy.

The Special Services Bureau

consists of Special Operations and Metro Traffic Division.


The executive staff

provides guidance and accomplishes its mission by performing a myriad of tasks including but not limited to:

  • Oversight
  • Strategic Planning
  • Budgeting
  • Inspection
  • Training
  • Policy Development